Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Green Golden Feather Environment Puraskar & Paristhithi Rathna Award for Prof. Dr. S. Sitaraman

Prof. Dr. S. Sitaraman
Prof. Dr. S. Sitaraman, renowned environmental activist and Secretary of Association of Environmental Protection have been selected for the 'Green Golden Feather Environment Puraskar' instituted by Global Management of Team Solar, a leading renewable energy group. Besides Dr. Sitaraman, other awardees for Green Golden Feather Environment Puraskar are Fr. Johnson J. Palakkappillil, Principal, Sacred Heart College and Dr. Georgekutty Karianappalli, CEO, Lifeway Solar. Malayalam film star Mammooty is among six persons chosen for the ‘Virgin Earth Golden Feather Environment Awards 2011’ and 'Green Golden Feather Environment Puraskar' award for their work in the field of environmental protection. The 'Virgin Earth Golden Feather Environment Award will be also presented to Tony Chamminy, Mayor of Kochi Corporation and K. K. Krishnadas, CEO of Vallarpadam Transhipment Terminal-DP World.

The award will be presented by K. P. Mohanan, Minister for Agriculture on 11th June 2011, said K. Liju, Regional Manager of Team Solar announcing the names of Award winners. It is as part of the global environmental initiatives, the Team Solar announced Golden Feather Awards all over the world for the outstanding performance in different areas of environmental protection. While the Virgin Earth Golden Feather Environment Award carries a prize of Rs.25,000 each along with mementos, the Green Golden Feather Environment Puraskar carries a prize of Rs.15,000 each along with mementos.

The Paristhithi Rathna Award instituted by the School News was also won by Prof. Dr. S. Sitaraman. He was chosen for this title, considering the various environmental awareness programmes demonstrated, said School News co-ordinator, Mytheen Shah Master.

Prof. Dr. Sitaraman has authored two books, The Periyar Action Plan and  Periyar-the life line of Kerala. Presently he is the President of Aluva Paristhithi Sangham, Secretary of Kerala Nadi Samrakshana Samithi and District Co-ordinator of Deseeya Haritha Sena. The Award will be presented by K. B. Ganesh Kumar, Minister for Forests & Enviornment on 28th August 2011 in a function at Mar Athanasious High School, Kakkanad.

Recently he was again elected the President of Kerala Brahmana Sabha, Aluva Upasabha. Congratulations to Dr. S. Sitaraman in his achievements.

No comments: